Georgia Historical Society Announces 2015 Trustees Gala Honorary Co-Chairs

Georgia Historical Society Announces 2015 Trustees Gala Honorary Co-Chairs

Savannah, Ga., January 27, 2015 – The Georgia Historical Society today released the list of dignitaries serving as Honorary Co-chairs for the 2015 Trustees Gala. Among those who will serve are President Jimmy Carter, The Honorable Johnny Isakson, and Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle.

“We are honored to have such an impressive list of Honorary Co-chairs for the 2015 Trustees Gala and Georgia History Festival,” said Dr. W. Todd Groce, President and CEO of the Georgia Historical Society. “Through their support, they are helping to promote the year-round educational programing of the Georgia Historical Society and our mission to collect, examine, and teach Georgia history. By providing teacher training, in-school presentations for students and of course access to the vast collections of our Research Center, the Georgia Historical Society is a resource for educators across the country and around the world.”

The Trustees Gala is the Georgia Historical Society’s premiere annual event and the culmination of the Georgia History Festival. Each year, this elegant and much-anticipated event draws Georgia’s top business and civic leaders to honor and pay tribute to the very best our state has produced.

The Trustees Gala will take place on Saturday, February 14 at the Hyatt Regency in Savannah, where Governor Nathan Deal will induct the 2015 Georgia Trustees, Alana Smith Shepherd, co-founder of Shepherd Center in Atlanta and Paula S. Wallace, President and co-founder of Savannah College of Art and Design.

The 2015 Georgia History Festival Co-Chairs are: President Jimmy Carter, The Honorable Stacey Abrams, The Honorable John Barrow, The Honorable Paul Broun, The Honorable Casey Cagle, The Honorable Buddy Carter, The Honorable Brooks Coleman, The Honorable Terry England, The Honorable Ben Harbin, The Honorable Matt Hatchett, The Honorable Penny Houston, The Honorable Johnny Isakson, The Honorable Lester Jackson, The Honorable Jack Kingston, The Honorable John Lewis, The Honorable Jeff Mullis, The Honorable Sam Olens, The Honorable Butch Parrish, The Honorable David Ralston, The Honorable Calvin Smyre, and the Honorable Lynn Westmoreland.

The 2015 Gala, “The Seven Empires,” is an elegant evening including lively conversation with the inductees and other local, state, and national leaders. Seats or tables at the 2015 Trustees Gala can be purchased at or by calling the Georgia Historical Society at 912-651-2125, ext. 120 or 404-382-5410, ext. 120.