Board of Curators


Walter M. “Sonny” Deriso, Jr., Chairman

Walter M. Deriso, Jr.

Deriso is the Chairman and a director of Atlantic Capital Bancshares, Inc. and Atlantic Capital Bank, a position he has held since their founding in October 2006.

In addition to serving as Chairman and a director of Atlantic Capital Bancshares, Inc. Mr. Deriso served as Vice Chairman of Synovus Financial Corp. from 1997 to February 2005. He is a graduate of Emory College and Emory Law School, where he was elected to be the first President of the Emory Student Government Association. He practiced law in Albany, Georgia from 1972 to January 1991, when he left his law practice to become the President and CEO of Security Bank.

In 2011 he was listed in Atlanta Business Chronicle’s 100 Most Influential Atlantans and was recognized as a Most Admired CEO by Atlanta Business Chronicle in 2017.

Thomas M. Holder, Vice Chairman

Thomas M. Holder

Thomas M. Holder has served as the Chairman and CEO of Holder Construction Company in Atlanta since 1997. A graduate of the Georgia Institute of Technology, he began at Holder in 1976 and held various operations and management positions before being promoted to President and CEO in 1989. His clients include The Coca-Cola Company, the University of Georgia, AT&T and Cox Enterprises. Continually active in community service, Mr. Holder has served as the Chairman on the Kennesaw State University Foundation Board of Trustees and has been a board member of the Woodruff Arts Center since 2006, where he chaired the 2007-2008 annual corporate campaign. He is also on the board of Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta Foundation and a member of Atlanta Downtown Rotary.

H. Jerome Russell, Jr., Treasurer

H. Jerome Russell, Jr.

H. Jerome Russell moved through the professional ranks of H. J. Russell & Company’s construction & real estate development operations to his current position as President of H. J. Russell & Company and Russell New Urban Development, LLC where his focus is on the firm’s strategic direction and new business development. He has been involved in the beverage distribution, consumer marketing, banking, construction and development business for over 25 years. Like his father, Herman J. Russell, Jerome has an entrepreneurial flair, a firmly placed future orientation, and a dedication to his community. In 1997, Jerome was named to the Board of Citizens Trust Bank. In 2005, Jerome was named Chairman of the Loan Committee at Citizens Trust Bank. He also serves on the board of H. J. Russell & Company, Concessions International, Metro Atlanta YMCA, American Kidney Fund and Central Atlanta Progress. He is a member of the Urban Land Institute, Atlanta Rotary, Atlanta Chamber of Commerce the Young President Organization and the 100 Black Men of Atlanta.

Douglas J. Hertz, Secretary

Thomas M. Holder

Doug Hertz is President and CEO of United Distributors, Inc., a privately held beverage distribution business. He is Chairman and Founder of Camp Twin Lakes, a camping facility that serves nearly 9,000 special needs children and adults annually. He is Chairman of the Board of the Georgia Research Alliance and the Woodruff Arts Center and serves on the boards of Atlantic Capital Bank, the Holly Lane Foundation, the Marcus Foundation, the Mother Nature Network, and the Westminster Schools.


Chairmen Emeriti

Robert L. Brown, Jr.
Vincent J. Dooley
Kay T. Hightower
Robert S. Jepson, Jr.
Bill Jones III
Donald Kole
Grace Greer Phillips
Lisa L. White

Endowment Trust Board

John F. McMullan, Chairman
Dolly Chisholm
Dale Critz, Sr.
Walter M. “Sonny” Deriso, Jr., Ex officio
W. Todd Groce, Ex officio
Robert S. Jepson, Jr.
Sissy Schram Levy
Thomas V. Reilly
Philip Solomons, Jr.