Media Advisory: Georgia History Festival Press Conference

Who: The Georgia Historical Society, Dr. W. Todd Groce, President and CEO of the Georgia Historical Society along with Ms. Swann Seiler, Corporate Communications Support Manager for Georgia Power, the Trustee Level Sponsor of the Georgia History Festival and Dr. Thomas B. Lockamy, Jr., Superintendent of Savannah-Chatham County Public School System. Also on hand will be children from Hancock Day School in historical costume joined by a General James Oglethorpe interpreter and colonial interpreters from Wormsloe State Historic Site and a Conquistador from Fort King Georgia State Historic Site.


What: A press conference, to announce the names of the 2015 Georgia Trustees appointed by the Office of the Governor and the Georgia Historical Society. The presentation of a generous donation from Georgia Power as the Trustee level sponsor of the Georgia History Festival and the announcement of the 2015 Georgia History Festival Featured Historical Figure.


Where: In front of the statue of General Oglethorpe in Chippewa Square, Savannah, Georgia, Bull Street between Hull and Perry Streets.Inclement weather location: Georgia Historical Society Hodgson Hall, 501 Whitaker Street, Savannah.


When: Tuesday, September 30th 2014 at 10:00 a.m.


Why: In 1732, King George II of England created the Georgia Trustees. Their motto, Non Sibi, Sed Aliis, “Not for Self but for Others,” would be the motto that drove them to create England’s final settlement in the New World. In 2009, the Georgia Historical Society in partnership with the Office of the Governor reconstituted the Georgia Trustees to honor and recognize those Georgians whose accomplishments emulate the leadership and commitment to service of the original Trustees. The following Georgians have been inducted as Georgia Trustees in the modern era: Arthur Blank, Billy Payne, Truett Cathy, Herman Russell, Tom Cousins, Andrew Young, Vince Dooley, Sam Nunn, Hank Aaron, Ted Turner, Bernie Marcus, and Marguerite Neel Williams (honored posthumously).


Contact: Patricia Meagher, Director of Communications for the Georgia Historical Society
912.651.2125, ext. 153 or



SAVANNAH: 501 Whitaker St., Savannah, GA 31401
ATLANTA: 260 14th St., NW, Ste. A-148, Atlanta, GA 30318