Publication Awards

Malcolm Bell, Jr. and Muriel Barrow Bell Award

The Bell Award, established in 1992, is the highest publication award given by the Georgia Historical Society. It recognizes the best book on Georgia history published in the previous year. The award is named in honor of Malcolm Bell, Jr. and Muriel Barrow Bell in recognition of their contributions to the recording of Georgia’s history.

Click here for more information and to see a list of previous winners.

John Inscoe Award

The Inscoe Award was established in 2018 to honor John Inscoe, the Albert B. Saye Professor of History at the University of Georgia and editor of the Georgia Historical Quarterly from 1989 to 2000. It is given for the best article published in the Georgia Historical Quarterly in the previous year.